Even more challenges in the Rift


So after my fun on Thursday in the Rift, I decided to really push my luck 😉  I ended up running the RIft skirmish as a Tier 3 on my Warden, and again as a Tier 2 on my Minstrel.

I’ll start with the Minstrel and pretty much admit that this may be the last time I run that skirmish as a Tier 2 on that toon 🙂  I ended up getting the 2 AOE Flame Encounters that just ate my poor soldier up almost instantly – and I’m using a ranged soldier!  I was able to finally kill the Dragon, but I’m pretty sure the way I did it was an exploit and will not be doing that again.  I was just really frustrated and annoyed, luckily you can’t go negative on the skirmish marks 😉  The normal pulls weren’t that bad, but holy cow those 2 encounters roasted my poor Minnie’s butt.

Before that run with my Minstrel (which probably added to my frustration) was trying the Rift on Tier 3.  Now I’m not sure if it is just the Rift as this was my first attempt at Tier 3, but holy crap is there a HUGE jump in difficulty between tier 2 and tier 3.  I barely got past the first wave and ended up calling it a day after way too many deaths to count. – I had almost a 1 gold repair bill if that’s any indication 😦  I’m thinking part of the problem with the Warden with Tier 3 is that now with the higher mob resists, coupled with the boost to mitigations in Tier 3 make our transfers and DoTs MUCH less effective.  Perhaps it is time to re-think my traits again and go back to more of a mix of traits as opposed to full shield line.  I probably should parse things using CStats, but I didn’t think about it at the time.  In addition to those issues, these mobs were hitting for crazy amount – LTs critting for over 2K at a time, and critting quite frequently really make it a totally different fighting experience.  So I’m curious if others have tried other Tier 3’s or have experiences doing the RIft at higher difficulties.

I did capture some of it in Fraps, but sadly I rage deleted it as I was just so frustrated with the whole experience 😦  I’m not down on the system, I was just upset that I played so poorly.  I probably will dust myself of and re-attempt these again with a slightly modified strategy but for now I will be licking my wounds for a little bit 😉

7 responses to “Even more challenges in the Rift

  1. I feel your pain. I haven’t yet attempted a tier 3 rift solo yet, but last night I ran a tier 3 3-man with me (warden) a LM, and a hunter. While our first attempt got bugged from a fellowship maneuver. We started over wiped on a few encounters, and then finally beat it in the end. It is definetly a challenge on tier 3. We had been cruising through tier 2 and decided to try 3. You really have to be on your game. It’s challenging and fun. Looks like I may have to attempt a solo run, but I tried once before on Thievery and Mischief, and couldn’t even get past the first mob.

  2. The Rift encounter scaled drastically between Tiers, to the point where I think using different character and skirmish traits would make a big difference. And although I do miss the payout running this at Tier 1 with my guardian… I’m not sure it’s worth the money and effort (at this time) for me to do that. But I just wanted to throw it out that it’s not just you guys or just wardens. And like I said, Doc. I swear I completed T2 of the Rift out of pure spite, but to be fair I need to pump a lot more levels into my skirmish traits and drop some of my “taunt” character traits. 😀

    • yeah, i think soldier level and skirmish traits make a much bigger difference ih the rift and certainly with the resist changes. I also think I’m going to re-trait and see how that works out.

  3. I’ve not done the rift skirmish yet nor have I tried a tier 3 skirmish. I’ve pretty much gotten to the point where tier 1 solo skirmishes are easy but when I move up to tier 2 it is so much harder. I need to work on my traits as they are all relatively low. I’m sure that will help, and also need to level up my legendary item’s more and add more runes and gems. Also, I finally completed a small fellowship skirmish for the first time the other day after wiping on the boss numerous times until frustration set in. Anyway, definitely a big difference between atleast tier 1 and 2 and even between the solo and small fellowship skirmishes.

    • The tiers certainly vary depending on classes as I think the balance has shifted back to weapon classes being much stronger then tactical ones. And as the difficulty steps up, it becomes more important to have good traits, soldiers, LIs, etc. to combat the higher difficulty mobs.

  4. As I play an LM I have noticed a bit of an increase in difficulty. The Tier 1s are ok and I can do the encounters. I can handle most of the tier 2 solo as well, but I get schooled in the encounters.

    Was totally crushed yesterday by the dragon in Breaching the Necromancers Gate, the one that you feed the Aurochs meat. That thing has a wicked knockback which caused me to fall and die, then I tried it again and was at half health (with an herbalist) and I had only knocked 2k off the morale of the beastie.

    It does seem like I get a few more skirmish marks, and loot in the tier 2s but with the failure penalty, if I am after SMs I just do the tier 1s.

    • hehe, yeah I’ve had fun with that dragon before. Not so much me but my solider has been booted off that platform a number of times. I’m half tempted to spin him around and see if he (or I for that matter) can get punted over the wall to the outside 😉 Fire mobs with those aura effects are just really nasty as the ones in the rift are flat out nasty.

Leave a Reply

