My Minstrel in Mirkwood


So as a break from my warden, I decided to get my Minstrel up to the level cap next.  It is quite a nice change of pace from the warden, although I’ve certainly realized the hard way that I am pretty darn squishy 😉  Every now and then I go a get a tad aggressive on my pulling and grab more then 3 and think I can handle it, which usually doesn’t end well.  Right now, I’m currently running a full warrior-skald build with the capstone and 2 from the Protector of Song line which seems to be working pretty well.  The ICMR buff from Battle-hymn and extended anthem duration means I can have that ICMR buff up pretty much constantly!  I don’t seem to be having many resist issues like when Moria first launched and I’m still seeing LOTS of crits.  It is quite fun to AoE 3 mobs and hit them all for over 2k 😉  which after playing a warden as much as I do, is a substantial difference.  However, when I don’t crit and a couple friends decide to join the fray – I’m praying my feign death is still up!  I’m about mid-way through Mirkwood and 62 so far, and hit Friend reputation so I can now craft those jewelry items.  I’m currently working through the lovely are of Dannenglor, which I think is probably my LEAST favorite part of Mirkwood – lots of mobs, lots of roamers, and pretty quick re-spawns make it a very unfriendly area 🙂  That and the quest drops don’t seem to be all that frequent so you’re stuck there for a while.  Not to mention the stupid elves can’t communicate with each other or realize how much crap actually is up there that they might want so I have to make at least 4 trips.

After looking at the Mirkwood crafted jewelry a bit more I’m less impressed then I initially was.  The stats are good, don’t get me wrong, but I think I’m only going to use the Sage’s Greenwood Necklace on my minstrel.  Everything else seems to be too big of a hit with not enough of an upside.

I’m also probably going to tweak my UI a bit after reading Harperelle’s post on that topic.  Mine isn’t all that organized as you’ll see from the snaps below.  Most of my oh *#@& skills are on the vertical bar near my character with the travel and seldom used ones on the left side.  The other 4 are somewhat organized, but not very well.  Luckily I can move things around pretty easily as all my healing, ballads, and war-speech skills are done via my controller, so I’ll just re-map them.

lotroclient 2010-01-20 14-46-37-98

lotroclient 2010-01-20 15-19-23-48

lotroclient 2010-01-20 15-27-38-70

I should have another post out a bit later with some other Mirkwood and patch related items, assuming I don’t get distracted in game.

6 responses to “My Minstrel in Mirkwood

  1. Ack! Another one who puts crap on top of their avatar. Don’t you want to see your pretty cape/clothing?

    • I was waiting for your comment based on the last podcast episode 🙂 And that’s what F12 is for, when I want to get immersed or experience the area I turn off my entire UI.

    • I with Golden on this one. I don’t like stuff on top of my toon. I keep my pots, food, scrolls, etc vertical on the side below my character on the left. I keep all the travel, mounts and non combat skills like war speech, vertical on the right next to the quest log, and all my combat tasks grouped by genre at the bottom.

      But to each their own, it is allways interesting see how other people keep their UIs.

      There is no right or wrong, just what works for the individual. That said my set up is the only right way to do it 🙂

      • Ya’ll are both wrong 😉 But yeah, I’ve tweaked mine a few times – biggest problem for me usually is trying to keep tabs on everything at once. That’s the rationale behind my setup is the ability to see everything important right in the middle.

  2. That is quite an interesting UI that Harperelle has, lots of buttons everywhere.

    • But it is pretty well organized. I like trying to keep the center area available for the important things like morale, mob health, oh %@*& skills, etc. Plus for the most part I don’t use the mouse for skills so my bars are a little weird at times.

Leave a Reply

